Higher Education System

ISN is a unique organization, which aims to provide information about higher education and connect students from all over the world in Prague, Czech Republic.
What should you know about higher education system of Czech Republic?
The fundaments of Czech higher education date back six hundred years. In 1348 Emperor Charles IV founded a university in Prague which became the oldest academic institution in Central Europe. It is now called the Charles University.
Since 2001 the three-cycle structure has strictly been implemented in the higher education system (i.e. Bachelor's, Master's and Doctoral study programmes). The central governing body for education is the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports.
Language of Instruction
The main tuition language is Czech, however the range of programmes delivered in foreign languages (mainly in English) is expanding in particular to cater for international students.
Organization of Studies
The academic year is divided in two semesters or terms. These are generally organised as follows:

Winter semester:
September – December (exams: January - February)
Spring semester:
February – May (exams: May - June)
Student Assessment
The frequency and methods of assessing students' achievements differ according to the field of study. In some cases, a system of partial examinations taken after each semester has been introduced, in other cases one comprehensive examination after each completed part of studies is prescribed, mostly at the end of a certain module.
Study outcomes at higher education institutions are assessed mainly by a system of credits or points.

The credit system European Credit Transfer System has been encouraged since it allows completed parts of studies to be recognised, thus contributing to transferability within the system.
Degree Structure
Higher education institutions offer accredited degree programmes at three levels: Bachelor's, Master's, and Doctoral, as well as lifelong learning courses. Higher education institutions can be either university or non-university types. Traditional university-type institutions may offer all types of degree programmes while non-university institutions are characterised by providing mainly Bachelor's degree programmes. The documents confirming the completion of studies and the right to the appropriate academic title are the higher education diploma and the supplement to the diploma.
Bachelor's Degree
Bahcelor's programs are 3 to 4 years in duration and constitute the first level of higher education.

The study programme must be completed with a final state examination, which usually includes the presentation and defence of a thesis. Successful graduates may enter the labour market or continue their studies in follow-up Master's programmes in related fields.
Master's Degree
Master's programs may be as follow-up Master's programmes, or they may be full programmes.

Graduates in Master's programmes have to take a final state examination and publicly present and defend a thesis. Studies in medicine, veterinary medicine and hygiene are completed by a demanding state examination, including the presentation and defence of a rigorous thesis.
Doctoral's Degree
PhD Studies focus on independent creative work in research, development or the arts.

Doctoral studies are intended for graduates from Master's programmes and are completed by way of a state doctoral examination and the public presentation and defence of a dissertation based on original work, which must have been published or admitted for publishing.
Contact us
Feel free to write and call us. Become a part of international student network. We are here for you.
+420 777 979 444
Holeckova 3362/53,
150 00 Prague,
Your question
By clicking the button you agree our Privacy Policy.